Detail informatie evenement

Evenement naam2011 British GPS Speed Championships
Start Datumzondag 1 januari 2012
Eind Datummaandag 1 juli 2013
Evenement contactpersoonPete Davis
Evenement moderatorPete Davis

  Event beschrijving en NOR

Boards Magazine British GPS Speed Ladder 2011 Notice of Race

We are very pleased to announce the British GPS Speed Ladder sponsored by Boards Magazine. The event will start from the 16th of October 2010 which is the beginning of Weymouth Speed Week and run until the end of Weymouth Speed Week in October 2011.

You can view your ranking on and the Boards Web site this will rank the fastest in the UK, for that year. Based only on sessions from UK waters. There will be an annual trophy and prizes. So at any windy day you can set out with your GPS at your favourite speed spot, which could be on the sea or your local lake and set your own personal record. Then see how you did against the rest of the UK. The prizes will be drawn randomly at the end of the year out of ALL posts submitted. So the more times you post a speed the better chance you have of winning.

To register for the Event:

Boards Speed Forum

To help promote the British ladder there will be a heading on Boards forum for Speed Sailing. There you can suggest a day or place that you think would be good to get a great speed and hook up with other speed freaks. This way you can log in and check if anyone else is up for a session on a speed strip and with a given venue with the right wind conditions to set the highest speeds who knows what you could achieve? The top sites include premier spots such as West Kirby, The Ray Southend, Weymouth and Daymer Bay. But any venue will be included if the competitors want it. Flat speed sailing conditions are great but not imperative. 40 knot averages are nice but 30 knot averages are just as impressive in choppy conditions at your local lake. This is hopefully a system that will give great wind conditions for your sessions.


Video timing equipment is not used at these events. Only hand held gps units are used. This enables sessions be made at very short notice. The rules are based on the rules dictated by gps-speedsurfing. An average of the best five ten second times will give the speed for each sailor.

The main unit used is the Navi GT31 (£130 approximately with a memory card and Aquapack). is a preferred supplier and very competitively priced. But other older units like the Garmin Foretrex and Geko are still acceptable but are not as accurate and do not have the Doppler system. Top riders are advised to use a Navi as a small speed deduction can be applied for units that do not have Doppler system.

Depending on the GPS unit interval must be set to one or two seconds (Garmins). The GPS tracks are up-loaded to a computer and speeds are calculated on gps software such as gps action replay or GPS Results (free for 30 days then 29 Euros) Downloadable from the website ). Each competitor will then post his or her time (via the auto feature in the software) on gps-speedsurfing and clicking British Speed Championship as the event. (The event can be added under My GPS, My Equipment).

The results will then automatically appear on the gps speedsurfing forum page and the British only results page.

Registration on and the event is for free, but it is suggested to be become a Gold Member where you will have extra features available and support the website.

Windsurfing Equipment

Any equipment is allowed. It's not only speed boards that are quick. A wave board attained an average of 40 knots at Sandy Point in Australia. So speed or slalom boards are not a must.

There has never been a better time to try out your speed skills, gain some bragging rights over your mates and win some great prizes.

  Event meldingen

Deelnemers event
1Nick Vardalachos94,32
2Jacques van der Hout93,95
3Farrel O Shea93,82
4Jim Crossley92,55
5Martyn Ogier90,48
6Daniel Borgelind85,83
7Zara Davis85,75
8Dave White85,75
9Will Trossell85,38
10Steve Thorp85,37
11Anders Bjorkqvist84,22
12Ian Richards84,21
13Matthew York83,21
14Pete Young83,05
15Bob Cunningham82,11
16Kev Greenslade81,76
17Graham Turner80,02
18Stuart Trunkfield79,16
19Adam Gustafsson78,34
20Michael George78,04
21Neil Hardwick77,76
22Pete Davis77,25
23Tristan Haskins77,07
24Mark Hayford76,54
25Howard Rowson76,48
26Koen Onderbeke76,42
27Chris Bates76,08
28Mark Bailey75,4
29Jon White75,13
30Darren Mathers74,42
31Paul Burgess74,26
32Steve Flanagan74,1
33Johnny Walker73,71
34Simon Harris73,39
35Rob King72,76
36Nick Dempsey72,66
37Simon Thompson72,11
38Simon Thompson72,11
39Tim Lawes71,79
40Alex Bennett-Baggs71,72
41Ben Tilston70,77
42Norman Petty70,23
43Mike Pacey69,78
44Alastair Nichol68,88
45Stephen Squirrell68,63
46Peter Cutts68,41
47Duncan Adam67,69
48Mike Price66,63
49Stephen Giles66,35
50Stephen Giles66,35
51Robin Russell65,98
52Andrew Chandler65,49
53Nic Dodd65,37
54Lee Bottomley65,07
55Lee Spencer65,03
56Adrian Wallis64,97
57Dave Strudwick64,77
58Bryn Dampney64,73
59Mark Matthews63,76
60Jamie Bambridge63,6
61Ant Baker63,29
62Will Giles63,25
63Neil Hackett62,38
64Neil Hackett62,38
65Neil Hackett62,38
66Gavin Nicholson62,37
67Tim Tarrington61,94
68Paul Sandman60,63
69Simon Perkins60,62
70Griff Halliwell59,91
71Richard Lloyd59,49
72Martin McCourt56,69
73Jack Trollope54,73
74Mike Jones52,83
75Ian Booth52,37
76Steve Summerfield51,08
77Richard Haynes50,97
78Steve Sugden50,19
79Paul Monnington49,89
80Christopher Sparrow49,54
81Gordon Roach48,97
82Paul Holt48,21
83David Christmas48,19
84Richard M Hay47,95
85Eddie Murrell45,26
86Russ Morton43,62
87Emily Hall37,47
88Dan Winterbottom1
89Andrew Martin Walters1