Detail information event

Event name2015 Gran Canaria Le Defi Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge
Start DateSaturday, May 16, 2015
End DateSunday, May 17, 2015
Event contactinfoJan Hendrik de Bruin
Event sponsorGran Canaria

  Event description and NOR

Gran Canaria Le Defi Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge

The idea to include a Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge during Le Defi event was born during the first edition of the Dunkerbeck Speed Challege in 2014. The organizer of Le Defi, Philippe Bru, was taking part in the event along with his son and after some brainstorming between heats, the project began to take shape.

In both disciplines, Speed and Long Distance, the winner is the fastest windsurfer, so why not combine the two during the Le Defi?

Thanks to the sponsorship of the Tourism Board of Gran Canaria this project is going to happen in 2015, just in time to celebrate the 15th anniversary of the Le Defi event.

The Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge in Le Defi has a provisional date of Saturday the 16th of May, depending on the weather conditions. It will be confirmed a week before. !

The event will only be for one day and all sailors interested in taking part should register before the start online via the website of Gran Canaria, registration is open from today.

Besides the The Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge in Le Defi we have another world premiere. We will organize the first ever-worldwide GPS challenge on the same day! It will give windsurfers all around the world the change to “virtual” compete with the competitors who are racing in Le Defi. To take part in a race like Le Defi is something that every windsurfer should do at least once in their lifetime, with a great atmosphere, racing among 1.200 sailors.  It is a unique experience!

So if you are not going to be at the Le Defi event we are giving the chance to every sailor worldwide to take part in the Gran Canaria Le Defi Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge by having two different rankings, one for Le Defi participants, and a virtual one for those competing from their home spots. To enter the worldwide "Virtual"  race, you just have to post on on the 16th of May and your will compete automatically !  

During the event you also could register at the Gran Canaria stand located right at the beach camp. Competitors must bring their own compatible GPS devices according to the standard rules from The GPS will automatically detect the best 500m run during the daily race of Le Defi, only the times done in the long distance race will be valid.


“Play with us”

Bjorn & Philippe

Here you find a step-by-step instructions how to register and how to post your speed session:

  1. How to create a new account (new members)
  2. How to finish your profile & getting ready to post
  3. How to subscribe to the event for Defi competitors
  4. How to enter the Virtual World Wide Race
  5. How to upload your session


  Event messages

Event subscribers
1Antoine Albeau53.86
2Vincent Valkenaers53.56
3Hans Kreisel52.34
4Andy Laufer51.64
5Jurjen van der Noord51.39
6Bjorn Dunkerbeck51.38
7Jacques van der Hout50.73
8Mikkel Asmussen49.77
9Markus Emanuelsson48.81
10Manfred Merle48.61
11Magnus Bengtsson48.48
12Alexander Goncharov47.95
13Petter Malmkvist47.9
14Gautier Bourgeois47.69
15Alain De Gendt47.29
16Ben van der Steen46.58
17Daniel Borgelind46.34
18Damien Nico46.08
19Lena Erdil45.94
20Thomas Doeblin45.28
21Brian Rogild45.08
22Johan Huitema44.67
23Dylan de Jong44.66
24Anders Boje44.59
25Dennis Klaaijsen44.53
26Hendrik de Jong44.5
27Michel Meijer44.3
28Carsten Hanke43.25
29Gilles Paredes-Vinuales43.13
30Gilles Paredes-Vinuales43.13
31Gilles Paredes-Vinuales43.13
32Tjitse Spitse43.01
33Anne Schindler42.27
34Anne Schindler42.27
35Ferdinand Rikkers42
36steve laubaney41.78
37Andries Keulen41.59
38Marc Roosli41.43
39Raf Alexander41.35
40Pieter Bijl41.27
41Guillaume Piedfert41.14
42Toomas Kasenurm40.82
43John Skye40.77
44Kai Kaufmann40.52
45Kai Kaufmann40.52
46Kai Kaufmann40.52
47Kai Kaufmann40.52
48Adriaan van Rijsselberghe40.5
49Erik Larsson40.45
50Jan Hendrik de Bruin40.36
51Anton J. Geesink40.34
52Oane Kingma40.24
53Laurent Paya39.91
54Anne Fahner39.82
55Geert van Beek39.55
56Olivier Ponrouch38.99
57Nicolas Saillard38.79
58Alexandre Broussier38.49
59Jens Vester38.42
60Kasper Juul Larsen38.19
61Andres Kask38.15
62Oliver Schaarschmidt38.06
63Arnold Agema37.88
64Sieger Boonstra37.27
65Dabat Gérard37.15
66Pieter van der Jagt36.94
67George Fulton36.83
68Mike Hessels36.63
69Ewoud van den Berg36.6
70Rainer Fuhrmann36.51
71Annika Valkna35.71
72Virgil Conan35.48
73Martin Sandberg35.3
74Martin Svej35.07
75Jan Seidel35.03
76Martin Keernik35.03
77Andy Hart35.03
78Alex Lewin34.65
79Nigel Spriggs34.56
80Werner Roeers34.25
81Jan Behrendt33.98
82HAULBERT Yoann33.89
83Yves Wynen33.88
84Jean-Paul Krijgsman33.56
85Menno van den Berg33.52
86Paul Sintic33.34
87Wim Claessens33.17
88Guillaume Montjotin33.03
89Mavris Haris32.76
90Klaus Lepies32.69
91Guido Trampe32.51
92Silvester Napik32.49
93Frederik Schukken32.03
94Peep Tomingas31.99
95Mats Dahlberg31.73
96Stacey Vass31.45
97Ted de Pagter31.38
98Philippe Tiquet31.03
99Pedro da Costa31.03
100Olivier Soufflet30.78
101Carsten Gram30.76
102François Kohl30.67
103Henrik Bach Christensen30.52
104Timm-Daniel Koepke29.48
105Jean-Claude David29.22
106Eugen Dunkerbeck28.94
108Josep Pons28.6
109Josep Pons28.6
110Josep Pons28.6
111Viktor Schmidt28.34
112Lars Krueger28.07
113Angelo Fumagalli28.04
114Aron Etmon27.79
115Raffaello Gardelli27.62
116Stephen Pugh27.53
117Tenerife Windsurf Solution27.46
118patrick sinot 25.72
119Alexandra Meier21.64
120Josue Jimenez20.88
121Omar Sanchez13.52