Detail information event

Event nameGRAN CANARIA Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge PERIOD 1
Start DateThursday, May 21, 2020
End DateMonday, June 22, 2020
Event sponsor•Gran Canaria Tourism Board •Severne Sails •AV Boards •GPS-Speed •Fuerte Action •Dunkerbeck Windsurf Center

Event description and NOR

Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge – Virtual-WORLDWIDE Speed Windsurf Event

Period 1: 21.05.-21.06.20 / Period 2: 01.07.-31.08.20

This year, in this exceptional situation that the whole world is experiencing with all the limitations that are being imposed on us, we are happy to continue with the competition format that we have been carrying out since 2015 and to make it even more interesting for all windsurfers.

As a tribute to the Defi Wind we’ll have a first period from the 21st of May till the 21st of June and as an ADD ON a second period from the 01.07. till the 31st of August.

Because it’s also our main motivation to mobilize the entire windsurfing community and regain relative normality through our sport as soon as possible using current technology to compete together from any country in the world without traveling, while promoting windsurfing as an ecological sport and healthy lifestyle.


Make sure that you don’t miss a period because the winners will be the ones with the fastest Average of the two rounds (considering always the fastest av. Speed on 250m)


After being in lockdown for several weeks we are sure that we are all really looking forward to get back on the water.


Whats NEW this year?


this year we’ll also rank:

(what’s alpha race? A small explanation for those who do not know what it is, is to do a distance of 250mts a jibe and another 250mts back. The trick is that there can be no more than 50m between the starting point and the return point, and this is where the ability of the windsurfer to set the fastest round-trip course and tell you about the pass comes into play.)


So everybody starts to tune his gear because this year the fastest can win:

  • Cool Windsurf accessories from SEVERNE,
  • Premium memberships from GPS-SPEEDSURFING,
  • Stylish clothing from FUERTE ACTION
  • and of cause, caps, lenyards and shirts from Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge


Allowed GPS Devices you’ll find on  


Every registered windsurf spot is valid.

Just switch on your GPS, go to the water and sail as fast as you can.



Thanks to the support of:


…making the event Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge possible one more year


Notice of Race  

Location: worldwide

Date: The Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge will take place from the 21.05.2020 till 21.06.2020 and 01.07.2020 till 31.08.2020. The winner will be the rider with the fastest average of period one and two (considering always the fastest av. Speed on 250m)


Registration is simple: first register as a user of (GP3S)

For Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge a registration in the Event section is necessary. By this, all participants agree to the terms and conditions of GP3S, including giving us the right to share and publish session data for the rankings of the Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge and to receive emails related to the event.



The Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge will be based on current GPS-measuring standards and rules. Considering the average speed of 250 m.


Each session you want to publish needs to be uploaded to

Sessions shall be uploaded at the same day or not later than 31.08.2020.


All GPS tracks need to be available for verification by the event organization at all times.

The results will be shown on and event Facebook page:


GPS Equipment:

All GPS units approved by (see actual device list here)




Every rider has responsibility for himself. He/she has to have all insurances needed. The organizer will not take any responsibility for rescue operations nor racing accidents.



Event sponsors:

Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge  is sponored by:




The event is organized by Björn Dunkerbeck and his Company E11 Bjorn Dunkerbeck SLU


Event update messages

Event subscribers
1Hans Kreisel53.57
2Vincent Valkenaers53.56
3Twan Verseput 52.95
4Bjorn Dunkerbeck52.43
5Jurjen van der Noord51.39
6Jacques van der Hout50.73
7Matthias Rottcher50.06
8Thomas Moldenhauer47.99
9Nils Bach47.63
10Laurent Fesquet47.4
11Heidi Ulrich47.33
12Christian Arnold47.2
13Christian Benzing47.17
14Ron Koldeweid46.79
15Ben van der Steen46.58
16Marcus Richardson46.54
17Dennis De Pauw46.32
18Rolf de Ruiter45.78
19Minos Efstathiadis45.55
20Leon Dirks45.53
21Raimundo Sala Albert45.5
22Anders Bjorkqvist45.47
23Floris Wondergem45.31
24Thomas Doeblin45.28
25Sander van Huizen45.08
26Brian Rogild45.08
27Serge Beumer44.9
28Johan Huitema44.67
29Mick Born44.66
30Dylan de Jong44.66
31Dennis Klaaijsen44.53
32Marc Roosli44.5
33Alberto Possati44.36
34Tim Joosten44.31
35Patrick Oberlender44.16
36Reginald Gyselinck43.96
37Liam Dunkerbeck43.66
38Manfred Fuchs43.52
39Stefan Brouwers43.45
40Ralf Ewers42.96
41Marco Bakker42.9
42Patrick Miller42.74
43Edwin Roestenburg42.54
44Robin Blondeel42.47
45Mark Hayford42.36
46Luc Salomons42.34
47Anne Schindler42.27
48Bram Kloosterman42.18
49Geoff Cook42.12
50Toomas Kasenurm42.03
51Stuey Gwynn42.02
52Robert Stavnas42.01
53Dirk Hacha41.97
54Roger Hermansson41.94
55Philip Adamidis41.6
56Marc Kappes41.46
57Raymond Stalfoort41.44
58Adam Mróz41.4
59Koen Onderbeke41.27
60Laurent Paya41.27
61Mattias Ringdahl41.13
62Tim Otte40.98
63Erik van Boggelen40.92
64Niek de Vos40.85
65Benjamin Verdin40.82
66Mark Jordan40.8
67John Skye40.77
68Edu Hoekstra40.64
69Willem Wolvers40.59
70Kai Kaufmann40.52
71Matt Dowse40.51
72Anthony Rebours40.47
73Erik Larsson40.45
74Kai Dunn40.37
75Jan Hendrik de Bruin40.36
76Richard Lutter40.3
77Kean Rogers40.2
78Geert van Beek39.95
79Wessel Douma39.87
80Martin Egard39.85
81Anne Fahner39.82
82Rob de Jong39.82
83Karstjan van den Berg39.34
84Rob King39.29
85Alwin Visker39.27
86Frank Buikstra39
87Remco Heida 38.95
88Theo Haarsma38.89
89Gerard ten Berge38.79
90Alexander Doukas38.7
91Marie-Paule Geldhof38.68
92Kamil Tyniewicki38.28
93Joris Vos38.23
94Oliver Schaarschmidt38.06
95Paul Wemyss37.92
96Scott Simms37.81
97Thomas Ege37.68
98John Skinner37.57
99Marc Roosendaal37.37
100Michael Nordström37.3
101Andres Baas36.89
102Bert-Jan Prins36.68
103Peter Goossen36.64
104Janny Huitema36.56
105Derryn Arthur36.56
106Joris Douma36.46
107Kuba Kaczmarek36.27
108Stijn de Bruin36.19
109Jan Goudbeek36.14
110Eric Wind36
111James Faley35.94
112Yago de la Torre35.8
113Bart Hanekamp35.66
114Christian Nordmann35.51
115Kirsten Baas35.45
116Maree Jordan35.42
117Regis Lesieur35.37
118Anita Staaden35.18
119Andy Hart35.03
120Pernille Sanderhoff34.94
121Kristel Kaubi34.81
122Karen Robertson34.57
123Pepijn Den Boer34.52
124Andrea Vanhoorne34.46
125Ralf Pasewald34.46
126Daniel Tobiasson34.16
127Matthias Koch34.09
128Thorsten Händel34.01
129Marc van Beckhoven33.93
130Laura van Beckhoven33.91
131Thomas Regler33.69
132Maksymilian Czaplewski33.57
133Kipps Zygarewicz33.44
134Julian Koldeweid33.36
135Pieter Bosma33.29
136Michal Polak33.27
137Marcel Mulder33.27
138Mandy van de Hoef32.9
139Oliver Behrend32.73
140Quinten Joosten32.73
141MIchele Tedesco32.53
142Sofia Koukouzeli32.51
143Claus Falconi32.24
144Doug Baker31.96
145Maron Rietveld31.48
146Milan Hoekstra31.37
147François Pettorelli31.13
148Jaws Pina31.06
149Jake Hindmarsh30.99
150Lukas Ruefenacht30.99
151Nicolaas Dam30.85
152Jean-Charles Le Tarnec30.63
153Henk Vos30.54
154Ashley Veenstra30.42
155Jan Joustra30.24
156Jonne Heimann30.17
157Søren Bagger30.16
158Mike Henschel30.15
159Thorsten Ruth29.69
160Ben Clothier29.41
161Stefan Sundheden28.26
162Caroline Spinner28.11
163Romy-Anne Reenders28.06
164Paul Stich27.62
165Konrad Urbanowicz27.34
166Fleur Visser26.54
167Riccardo Degan26.1
168Alexia Kiefer Quintana25.98
169Nikolett Piszkei25.93
170Ole Erik Carlson25.45
171Winny Hohensee25.15
172Rens de Bruin24.38
173Theo Theinert24.32
174Sophie Hoekstra22.61
175Elise Baas20.29
176Mark Sudul19.57