Detail information event

Event nameGRAN CANARIA Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge PERIOD 1
Start DateThursday, May 21, 2020
End DateSunday, June 21, 2020
Event sponsor•Gran Canaria Tourism Board •Severne Sails •AV Boards •GPS-Speed •Fuerte Action •Dunkerbeck Windsurf Center

  Event description and NOR

Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge – Virtual-WORLDWIDE Speed Windsurf Event

Period 1: 21.05.-21.06.20 / Period 2: 01.07.-31.08.20

This year, in this exceptional situation that the whole world is experiencing with all the limitations that are being imposed on us, we are happy to continue with the competition format that we have been carrying out since 2015 and to make it even more interesting for all windsurfers.

As a tribute to the Defi Wind we’ll have a first period from the 21st of May till the 21st of June and as an ADD ON a second period from the 01.07. till the 31st of August.

Because it’s also our main motivation to mobilize the entire windsurfing community and regain relative normality through our sport as soon as possible using current technology to compete together from any country in the world without traveling, while promoting windsurfing as an ecological sport and healthy lifestyle.


Make sure that you don’t miss a period because the winners will be the ones with the fastest Average of the two rounds (considering always the fastest av. Speed on 250m)


After being in lockdown for several weeks we are sure that we are all really looking forward to get back on the water.


Whats NEW this year?


this year we’ll also rank:

(what’s alpha race? A small explanation for those who do not know what it is, is to do a distance of 250mts a jibe and another 250mts back. The trick is that there can be no more than 50m between the starting point and the return point, and this is where the ability of the windsurfer to set the fastest round-trip course and tell you about the pass comes into play.)


So everybody starts to tune his gear because this year the fastest can win:

  • Cool Windsurf accessories from SEVERNE,
  • Premium memberships from GPS-SPEEDSURFING,
  • Stylish clothing from FUERTE ACTION
  • and of cause, caps, lenyards and shirts from Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge


Allowed GPS Devices you’ll find on  


Every registered windsurf spot is valid.

Just switch on your GPS, go to the water and sail as fast as you can.



Thanks to the support of:


…making the event Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge possible one more year


Notice of Race  

Location: worldwide

Date: The Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge will take place from the 21.05.2020 till 21.06.2020 and 01.07.2020 till 31.08.2020. The winner will be the rider with the fastest average of period one and two (considering always the fastest av. Speed on 250m)


Registration is simple: first register as a user of (GP3S)

For Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge a registration in the Event section is necessary. By this, all participants agree to the terms and conditions of GP3S, including giving us the right to share and publish session data for the rankings of the Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge and to receive emails related to the event.



The Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge will be based on current GPS-measuring standards and rules. Considering the average speed of 250 m.


Each session you want to publish needs to be uploaded to

Sessions shall be uploaded at the same day or not later than 31.08.2020.


All GPS tracks need to be available for verification by the event organization at all times.

The results will be shown on and event Facebook page:


GPS Equipment:

All GPS units approved by (see actual device list here)




Every rider has responsibility for himself. He/she has to have all insurances needed. The organizer will not take any responsibility for rescue operations nor racing accidents.



Event sponsors:

Gran Canaria Dunkerbeck Speed Challenge  is sponored by:




The event is organized by Björn Dunkerbeck and his Company E11 Bjorn Dunkerbeck SLU


  Event messages

Event subscribers
1Vincent Valkenaers53.56
2Twan Verseput 52.82
3Hans Kreisel52.34
4Bjorn Dunkerbeck51.38
5Matthias Rottcher50.06
6Laurent Fesquet47.4
7Christian Arnold47.2
8Ron Koldeweid46.79
9Ben van der Steen46.58
10Heidi Ulrich45.85
11Minos Efstathiadis45.55
12Raimundo Sala Albert45.5
13Anders Bjorkqvist45.47
14Thomas Doeblin45.28
15Sander van Huizen45.08
16Dirk Doppenberg45.03
17Serge Beumer44.9
18Dennis Klaaijsen44.53
19Alberto Possati44.36
20Thomas Moldenhauer43.97
21Marcel Braas43.96
22Patrick Oberlender43.77
23Nils Bach43.73
24Rolf de Ruiter43.71
25Manfred Fuchs43.52
26Carsten Hanke43.25
27Stefan Brouwers43.11
28Ralf Ewers42.96
29Marco Bakker42.9
30Robin Blondeel42.47
31Mark Hayford42.36
32Luc Salomons42.34
33Edwin Roestenburg42.3
34Anne Schindler42.27
35Bram Kloosterman42.18
36Marc Roosli41.43
37Koen Onderbeke41.26
38Adam Mróz41.02
39Marco Lambers40.92
40Tim Otte40.86
41John Skye40.77
42Tim Joosten40.67
43Kai Kaufmann40.52
44anthony Rebours40.47
45Erik Larsson40.41
46Jan Hendrik de Bruin40.36
47Richard Lutter40.3
48Kean Rogers40.2
49Floris Wondergem40.15
50Raphael THOMAS40.02
51Laurent Paya39.91
52Wessel Douma39.87
53Martin Egard39.85
54Rob de Jong39.82
55Geert van Beek39.55
56Hans Frydendal39.47
57Karstjan van den Berg39.34
58Rob King39.29
59Niek de Vos38.94
60Alexander Doukas38.7
61Marie-Paule Geldhof38.68
62Kamil Tyniewicki38.28
63Oliver Schaarschmidt38.06
64Aart Veerman38.01
65Ardie van Olst37.98
66Paul Wemyss37.92
67Thomas Ege37.68
68Gerard ten Berge37.41
69Marc Roosendaal37.37
70Remco Heida 36.75
71Bert-Jan Prins36.68
72Joris Douma36.46
73John Skinner36.36
74Kuba Kaczmarek36.27
75Jelmer Vries36.21
76Gerrit Bosgraaf-Feenstra36.19
77Simon chippington 36.06
78Eric Wind36
79Theo Haarsma35.95
80James Faley35.94
81Edu Hoekstra35.86
82Bart Hanekamp35.66
83Stijn de Bruin35.6
84Christian Nordmann35.51
85Virgil Conan35.48
86Anita Staaden35.18
87Andres Baas35.05
88Maciej Bukolt35.03
89Ralf Pasewald34.46
90Derryn Arthur34.32
91Daniel Tobiasson34.16
92Jan Goudbeek33.93
93Janny Huitema33.35
94Michal Polak33.27
95Thomas Regler33.05
96Quinten Joosten32.73
97Kirsten Baas32.59
98MIchele Tedesco32.53
99Claus Falconi32.24
100Kipps Zygarewicz31.61
101Maron Rietveld31.48
102Andrea Vanhoorne31.47
103Doug Baker31.23
104Jurian Velthuis30.99
105Nicolaas Dam30.85
106Cyril Evrard30.72
107Jean-Charles Le Tarnec30.63
108Marc van Beckhoven30.54
109Leta Margoni30.53
110Pernille Sanderhoff30.38
111François Pettorelli29.89
112Thorsten Ruth29.69
113Milan Hoekstra29.69
114Laura van Beckhoven29.13
115Roger Örnvang28.69
116Mandy van de Hoef28.16
117Nadine Zidek28.01
118Romy-Anne Reenders27.31
119Paul Stich27.16
120Konrad Urbanowicz26.79
121Fleur Visser26.54
122Mike Henschel26.39
123Jan J26.28
124Rens de Bruin24.38
125Margriet Veenstra23.87
126Winny Hohensee23.4
127Ole Erik Carlson22.32
128Julian Koldeweid19.9
129Elise Baas14.2
130Andy Salwanowicz13.77